Christian Religious Study

NUC List of Approved Universities In Nigeria 2019

This write-up is put up to help students in Nigeria or any other part of the world who are about to enrol in a Nigeria University to study a course; know the NUC list of approved Universities in Nigeria.

Education is very important, but schooling in a NUC approved university is what boosts your chance of working in a good organization in Nigeria when employment is concerned.

Enrolling in NUC approved universities in Nigeria also enable you to take advantage of opportunities in the workplace after graduation.

Even if you have chosen the right course of study, securing employ in an organization can be difficult if the university you schooled in was not accredited by the National Universities Commission of Nigeria.

Furthermore, you go through the stress of convincing you potential employers during interviews for jobs that you are good enough when the University you graduated from is not recognized by the National Universities Commission.

Functions of national university commission

NUC functions are as follow:

  • Granting approval for all academic programmes run in Nigerian universities;
  • Granting approval for the establishment of all higher educational institutions offering degree programmes in Nigerian universities;
  • Ensure quality assurance of all academic programmes offered in Nigerian universities; and
  • Channel for all external support to the Nigerian universities.

NUC FULL LIST OF APPROVED UNIVERSITIES IN NIGERIA

On the National Universities commission official website there are currently 43 Federal Universities, 48 State Universities and 79 Private Universities in Nigeria.

Having said all that, here are the list of NUC approved universities for 2019

NUC List of Approved Federal Universities

Approved Federal Universities | Year Established | School Website

  1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi | 1988 | http://www.atbu.edu.ng
  2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria | 1962 | http://www.abu.edu.ng
  3. Bayero University, Kano | 1975 | http://www.buk.edu.ng
  4. Federal University Gashua, Yobe | 2013 | http://www.fugashua.edu.ng
  5. Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun | 2007 | http://www.fupre.edu.ng
  6. Federal University of Technology, Akure | 1981 | http://www.futa.edu.ng
  7. Federal University of Technology, Minna | 1983 | http://www.futminna.edu.ng
  8. Federal University of Technology, Owerri | 1980 | http://www.futo.edu.ng
  9. Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State | 2011 | http://www.fud.edu.ng/
  10. Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina | 2011 | http://www.fudutsinma.edu.ng
  11. Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State | 2011 | http://www.fukashere.edu.ng
  12. Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State | 2011 | http://www.fulafia.edu.ng
  13. Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State | 2011 | http://www.fulokoja.edu.ng
  14. Alex Ekwueme University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State | 2011 | http://www.funai.edu.ng
  15. Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa | 2011 | http://www.fuotuoke.edu.ng/
  16. Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State | 2011 | http://www.fuoye.edu.ng
  17. Federal University Wukari, Taraba State | 2011 | http://www.fuwukari.edu.ng
  18. Federal University, Birnin, Kebbi | 2013 | http://www.fubk.edu.ng
  19. Federal University, Gusau Zamfara | 2013 | http://www.fugusau.edu.ng
  20. Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike | 1992 | http://www.mouau.edu.ng
  21. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola | 1981 | http://www.mautech.edu.ng
  22. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos | 2002 | http://www.nou.edu.ng
  23. Nigeria Police Academy Wudil | 2013 | http://polac.edu.ng
  24. Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna | 1985 | http://www.nda.edu.ng
  25. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka | 1992 | http://www.unizik.edu.ng
  26. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife | 1962 | http://www.oauife.edu.ng
  27. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada | 1988 | http://www.uniabuja.edu.ng
  28. Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta | 1988 | http://www.unaab.edu.ng
  29. University of Agriculture, Makurdi | 1988 | http://www.uam.edu.ng
  30. University of Benin | 1970 | http://www.uniben.edu.ng
  31. University of Calaber | 1975 | http://www.unical.edu.ng
  32. University of Ibadan | 1948 | http://www.ui.edu.ng
  33. University of Ilorin | 1975 | http://www.unilorin.edu.ng
  34. University of Jos | 1975 | http://www.unijos.edu.ng
  35. University of Lagos | 1962 | http://www.unilag.edu.ng
  36. University of Maiduguri | 1975 | http://www.unimaid.edu.ng
  37. University of Nigeria, Nsukka | 1960 | http://www.unn.edu.ng
  38. University of Port-Harcourt | 1975 | http://www.uniport.edu.ng
  39. University of Uyo | 1991 | http://www.uniuyo.edu.ng
  40. Usumanu Danfodiyo University | 1975 | http://www.udusok.edu.ng
  41. Nigerian Maritime University Okerenkoko, Delta State | 2018 | None
  42. Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna | 2018 | https://afit.edu.ng
  43. Nigerian Army University Biu | 2018 | https://naub.edu.ng/

NUC List of Approved State Universities

Approved State Universities | Year Established | School Website

  1. Abia State University, Uturu | 1981 | http://www.absu.edu.ng
  2. Adamawa State University Mubi | 2002 | http://www.adsu.edu.ng
  3. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba | 1999 | http://www.aaua.edu.ng
  4. Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot Akpaden | 2010 | http://www.aksu.edu.ng
  5. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma | 1980 | http://www.aauekpoma.edu.ng
  6. Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli | 2000 | http://coou.edu.ng
  7. Bauchi State University, Gadau | 2011 | http://www.basug.edu.ng
  8. Benue State University, Makurdi | 1992 | http://www.bsum.edu.ng
  9. Yobe State University, Damaturu | 2006 | http://www.ysu.edu.ng
  10. Cross River State University of Technology, Calabar | 2004 | http://www.crutech.edu.ng
  11. Delta State University Abraka | 1992 | http://www.delsu.edu.ng
  12. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki | 2000 | http://www.ebsu.edu.ng
  13. Ekiti State University | 1982 | http://www.eksu.edu.ng
  14. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu | 1982 | http://www.esut.edu.ng
  15. Gombe State Univeristy, Gombe | 2004 | http://www.gsu.edu.ng
  16. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai | 2005 | http://www.ibbu.edu.ng
  17. Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Rumuolumeni | 2010 | http://www.iaue.edu.ng
  18. Imo State University, Owerri | 1992 | http://www.imsu.edu.ng
  19. Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausa, Jigawa | 2013 | http://www.slu.edu.ng
  20. Kaduna State University, Kaduna | 2004 | http://www.kasu.edu.ng
  21. Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil | 2000 | http://www.kust.edu.ng
  22. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero | 2006 | http://www.ksusta.edu.ng
  23. Kogi State University Anyigba | 1999 | http://www.ksu.edu.ng
  24. Kwara State University, Ilorin | 2009 | http://www.kwasu.edu.ng
  25. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso | 1990 | http://www.lautech.edu.ng
  26. Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa | 2008 | http://www.osustech.edu.ng
  27. River State University | 1979 | http://www.rsu.edu.ng
  28. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye | 1982 | http://www.oouagoiwoye.edu.ng
  29. Lagos State University, Ojo | 1983 | http://www.lasu.edu.ng
  30. Niger Delta University Yenagoa | 2000 | http://www.ndu.edu.ng
  31. Nasarawa State University Keffi | 2002 | http://www.nsuk.edu.ng
  32. Plateau State University Bokkos | 2005 | http://www.plasu.edu.ng
  33. Tai Solarin University of Education Ijebu Ode | 2005 | http://www.tasued.edu.ng
  34. Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University Katsina | 2006 | http://www.umyu.edu.ng
  35. Osun State University Osogbo | 2006 | http://www.uniosun.edu.ng
  36. Taraba State University, Jalingo | 2008 | http://www.tsuniversity.edu.ng
  37. Sokoto State University | 2009 | http://www.ssu.edu.ng
  38. Yusuf Maitama Sule University Kano | 2012 | http://www.nwu.edu.ng
  39. Oyo State Technical University Ibadan | 2012 | https://tech-u.edu.ng
  40. Ondo State University of Medical Sciences | 2015 | http://www.unimed.edu.ng
  41. Edo University Iyamo | 2016 | http://www.edouniversity.edu.ng
  42. Eastern Palm University Ogboko, Imo State | 2016 | https://www.epu.edu.ng
  43. University of Africa Toru Orua, Bayelsa State | 2016 | https://www.uat.edu.ng/public
  44. Bornu State University, Maiduguri | 2016 | None
  45. Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology Abeokuta | 2017 | None
  46. Gombe State University of Science and Technology | 2017 | None
  47. Zamfara State University | 2018 | None
  48. Bayelsa Medical University | 2019 | None

Read Also: How to avoid plagiarism as a student in Nigeria

NUC List of Approved Private Universities

Approved Private Universities | Year Established | School Website

  1. Achievers University, Owo | 2007 | http://www.achievers.edu.ng
  2. Adeleke University, Ede | 2011 | http://www.adelekeuniversity.edu.ng
  3. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State | 2009 | http://www.abuad.edu.ng
  4. African University of Science & Technology, Abuja | 2007 | http://aust.edu.ng
  5. Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan | 2005 | http://www.acu.edu.ng
  6. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin | 2005 | https://www.alhikmah.edu.ng
  7. Al-Qalam University, Katsina | 2005 | http://www.auk.edu.ng
  8. American University of Nigeria, Yola | 2003 | http://www.aun.edu.ng
  9. Augustine University | 2015 | http://www.augustineuniversity.edu.ng
  10. Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo | 1999 | http://www.babcock.edu.ng
  11. Baze University | 2011 | http://www.bazeuniversity.edu.ng
  12. Bells University of Technology, Otta | 2005 | http://www.bellsuniversity.edu.ng
  13. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City | 2002 | https://www.biu.edu.ng
  14. Bingham University, New Karu | 2005 | http://www.binghamuni.edu.ng
  15. Bowen University, Iwo | 2001 | http://www.bowenuniversity-edu.org
  16. Caleb University, Lagos | 2007 | http://www.calebuniversity.edu.ng
  17. Caritas University, Enugu | 2005 | http://www.caritasuni.edu.ng
  18. Chrisland University | 2015 | http://www.chrislanduniversity.edu.ng
  19. Covenant University Ota | 2002 | http://www.covenantuniversity.edu.ng
  20. Crawford University Igbesa | 2005 | http://www.crawforduniversity.edu.ng
  21. Crescent University | 2005 | http://www.crescent-university.edu.ng
  22. Edwin Clark University, Kaigbodo | 2015 | http://www.edwinclarkuniversity.edu.ng
  23. Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin | 2012 | http://www.elizadeuniversity.edu.ng
  24. Evangel University, Akaeze | 2012 | http://www.evangeluniversity.edu.ng
  25. Fountain Unveristy, Oshogbo | 2007 | http://www.fountainuniversity.edu.ng
  26. Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike – Enugu State | 2009 | http://www.gouni.edu.ng
  27. Gregory University, Uturu | 2012 | http://www.gregoryuniversity.com
  28. Hallmark University, Ijebi Itele, Ogun | 2015 | http://www.hallmark.edu.ng
  29. Hezekiah University, Umudi | 2015 | http://hezekiah.edu.ng
  30. Igbinedion University Okada | 1999 | http://www.iuokada.edu.ng
  31. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji | 2006 | http://www.jabu.edu.ng
  32. Kings University, Ode Omu | 2015 | http://www.kingsuniversity.edu.ng
  33. Kwararafa University, Wukari | 2005 | http://www.kwararafauniversity.edu.ng
  34. Landmark University, Omu-Aran | 2011 | http://www.lmu.edu.ng
  35. Lead City University, Ibadan | 2005 | http://www.lcu.edu.ng
  36. Madonna University, Okija | 1999 | http://www.madonnauniversity.edu.ng
  37. Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo | 2012 | http://www.mcu.edu.ng
  38. Micheal & Cecilia Ibru University | 2015 | http://mciu.edu.ng
  39. Mountain Top University | 2015 | http://www.mtu.edu.ng
  40. Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja | 2009 | http://www.ntnu.edu.ng
  41. Novena University, Ogum | 2005 | http://www.novenauniversity.edu.ng
  42. Obong University, Obong Ntak | 2007 | http://www.obonguniversity.net
  43. Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State | 2009 | http://www.oduduwauniversity.edu.ng
  44. Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos | 2002 | http://www.pau.edu.ng
  45. Paul University, Awka – Anambra State | 2009 | http://www.pauluniversity.edu.ng
  46. Redeemer’s University, Ede | 2005 | http://www.run.edu.ng
  47. Renaissance University, Enugu | 2005 | http://www.rnu.edu.ng
  48. Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State | 2009 | http://www.rhemauniversity.edu.ng
  49. Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom | 2015 | http://www.ritmanuniversity.edu.ng
  50. Salem University, Lokoja | 2007 | http://www.salemuniversity.edu.ng
  51. Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa | 2011 | http://www.sau.edu.ng
  52. Southwestern University, Oku Owa | 2012 | http://www.southwesternuniversity.edu.ng
  53. Summit University | 2015 | http://www.summituniversity.edu.ng
  54. Tansian University, Umunya | 2007 | http://tansianuniversity.edu.ng
  55. University of Mkar, Mkar | 2005 | http://www.unimkar.edu.ng
  56. Veritas University, Abuja | 2007 | http://www.veritas.edu.ng
  57. Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State | 2009 | http://www.wellspringuniversity.net
  58. Wesley University. of Science & Technology, Ondo | 2007 | http://www.wusto.edu.ng
  59. Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State | 2007 | http://wdu.edu.ng
  60. Christopher University Mowe | 2015 | http://www.christopheruniversity.edu.ng
  61. Kola Daisi University Ibadan, Oyo State | 2016 | http://www.koladaisiuniversity.edu.ng
  62. Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State | 2016 | http://www.aul.edu.ng
  63. Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State | 2016 | http://www.dui.edu.ng
  64. Legacy University, Okija Anambra State | 2016 | http://www.legacyuniversity.edu.ng
  65. Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross river State | 2016 | http://www.arthurjarvisuniversity.edu.ng
  66. Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State | 2016 | http://www.crownhilluniversity.edu.ng
  67. Coal City University Enugu State | 2016 | None
  68. Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State | 2016 | http://www.clifforduni.edu.ng
  69. Admiralty University, Ibusa Delta State | 2017 | http://www.adun.edu.ng
  70. Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State | 2017 | http://www.spiritanuniversity.edu.ng
  71. Precious Cornerstone University, Oyo | 2017 | http://www.pcu.edu.ng
  72. PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Portharcourt | 2017 | http://www.pums.edu.ng
  73. Atiba University Oyo | 2017 | None
  74. Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences Ijanikin, Lagos | 2017 | http://www.ekounivmed.edu.ng
  75. Skyline University, Kano | 2018 | http://www.sun.edu.ng
  76. Greenfield University, Kaduna | 2019 | http://www.gfu.edu.ng
  77. Dominion University Ibadan, Oyo State | 2019 | http://www.dominionuniversity.edu.ng
  78. Trinity University Ogun State | 2019 | None
  79. Westland University Iwo, Osun State | 2019 | None

Read Also: How to write a good school project (Thesis)

Posted in Education and tagged , .

I am Anthony Stephen, an information blogger and the Chief Editor of InfotipsNG. My sole aim of creating this blog is to give Nigerians and other people all over the world well-researched information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *